Getting Involved

Where I found my passion for the ocean and my concern for the environment’s well-being and the inhabitants within wasn’t sitting on my couch watching documentaries or behind my computer screen looking things up, it was out in the world getting involved. Don’t get me wrong, it’s very important to educate yourself on the issues surrounding the destruction of our planet and the harm we are causing to the other living things and documentaries and articles are great at showing that. But, you really don’t get the feeling of accomplishment or the passion behind your interests if you don’t get out there and do something hands-on.

I found my passion out on the boardwalk planting new seagrass with the Surfers Environmental Alliance and volunteering with Farmers Against Hunger collecting thousands of pounds of leftover apples at an apple picking farm in Colts Neck after the season had passed to bring to the FoodBank of Monmouth and Ocean Counties. I felt like I was making a difference and that I was a part of the solution and that is a feeling I urge all of you to seek and experience in your own way. 

After feeling the difference between knowing there were issues and wanting to do something about them, and then actively seeking out opportunities and doing something about them, my only regret is not getting involved sooner. There are so many different ways one can get involved, you just have to look, and I’m not just talking about the ocean. Help is needed everywhere; from dog shelters, to farms, to beaches, to reservations and parks. Give back to the world that provides us with so much.

Leave a Reply

