30 Days of Gratitude: Day 1 – Smell

The five senses are easily some of the most fundamental aspects of a human being, but often so overlooked. There are too many people who take these amazing capabilities for granted. Our gifts of sight, taste, sound, touch, and smell help us understand and perceive the world. Without them, we would all be lost and have no sense of classification or description and not be able to have any feelings or emotions. Day 1 - Smell

But, today I am extra grateful for our sense of smell. Fortunately, I was able to attend a college less than a mile from the beach and live for two years in an apartment right on the water. I have never learned to appreciate something so naturally beautiful and powerful. The one smell I will never forget and always be so grateful for is the smell of the ocean. I would leave my bedroom window cracked no matter how cold it was just so I could fall asleep and wake up to that fresh smell of sea salt clinging to the cold wintery breeze. I find myself going outside throughout the day just so I can watch the ocean and take in a few lungfuls of the salty ocean scent.

Even before I got the chance to live so close to the water, I knew the ocean held many benefits and had so many ways of helping people. The smell of the ocean has had great therapeutic value to my life, helping me escape from my thoughts in a time of need and helping me find a happier, more peaceful, and clear place to just live and appreciate life in the moment.

While there are so many smells out there one can be grateful for, none have had as positive of an affect on my physical and mental wellbeing as the smell of the ocean. It brings me inner peace and clarity as well as keeps my mind stimulated and open to the universe. I will miss the luxury of being able to go outside and smell the ocean once I move away from the beach. The ocean has great value to me and has had many benefits on my overall health and happiness. Ideally, I’d like to end up living somewhere by the ocean whereas it is in such close proximity to the sea that has helped me find my passion and shape some of my personal views and constructs.

I am thankful for the ability to smell, but with all the smells in the world the scent of the ocean is one like no other that I will forever be grateful for.

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Gratitude: Day 1 – Smell

Leave a Reply

