30 Days of Gratitude – Day 4: Food

What food am I grateful for today?                                                                       day 4

Since becoming a vegetarian, I have gained a profound respect for the land that we live off of and the natural fruits and vegetables that grow from it. Today I am most grateful for fresh vegetables. If you want to get even more specific, I appreciate broccoli the most.

broc

I grew up not appreciative of the food that I had, especially the more natural and healthy options I tried to avoid as a kid. As I got older and more in tune with my inner spirituality and peace, things like not eating animals made complete sense to me. I didn’t want to partake in the violent actions of our overly-wealthy and powerful meat industry and put the negative energy from dead animals into my body. Instead, I knew I needed to take care of my body and that what I was eating directly correlated to my physical, mental, and spiral well-being.

Food is taken for granted every single day. Without food, we cease to live. It is the source for our nutrients, energy, and nourishment. Unfortunately, most of our food industry revolves around unhealthy and processed foods. Since going vegetarian, I had to learn how to replace all the foods full of the necessary proteins and nutrients my body needed. I had to rewire my palette to consume all the various vegetables I did not eat as much, if at all. Fruits and vegetables are great sources of vitamin C and potassium while low on fat and calories.

From over six years of working in the restaurant business I gained an appreciation for the art of cooking. It turned simple plants into gourmet dishes. I began to bring those recipes and styles home with me and found a liking to cooking. Broccoli soon became my favorite veggie to cook and eat. I hope to one day be able to grow my own fruits and vegetables in a small backyard garden.

Leave a Reply

