30 Days of Gratitude – Day 7: Memory

day 7 memory

What memory are you grateful for?

The memory that I am most grateful for is that of a life-changing and amazing experience in Costa Rica. I spent a week traveling with a group of about 10 people from the capital city of San Jose, to the surfing beaches of Jacó. Over 7 days we stayed in 4 different hotels participating in everything from zip-lining to white water rafting, walking through a cocoa plantation and making our own chocolate and hiking up the Arenal Volcano just to name a few. It was here that I had the best time of my life, it was here I became vegetarian again without having looked back since, it was here I became more in tune with my mind, body, and soul than ever before, it was here that I found myself.

I look back at photos from the trip constantly to try and relive those memories. I still talk to the people on the trip seeing as we shared such an awesome experience together, it would be crazy to not still be close with those people. We are always bringing up random stories or discussions about the trip just to laugh and reminisce. I had never been out of the country until this trip, and now all I want to do is travel the world seeing what life has to offer me outside of this state, outside of this country, outside of this culture and mainstream society. One of the greatest memories I have, but hopefully not the last.

If you would like to see more photos from the trip follow this link to my photo album on TheHowlander Facebook page:

Monmouth University Adventure Education class in Costa Rica

Posted by TheHowlander on Tuesday, March 21, 2017

 

Here is a video of our trip put together by our amazing professor Christopher Hirschler.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

