30 Days of Gratitude – Day 9: Place

After taking days to ponder this, typing up drafts and thoughts on places I thought I was grateful for, I finally found the one that calls to me. Can you guess what it is? That’s right, I am most grateful for the beach. Predictable huh? That’s okay if it is, because I mean it. I felt theday 9 gratitude, appreciation, love, and happiness today more than ever before. After a few hours spent today sitting and walking along my front yard, the atlantic ocean and Long Branch beach, I knew this is what I had to write about.
There is a reason most of my posts and topics revolve around the benefits regarding anything relating to the ocean. My passion lies with the sea. It is my favorite place solely because of how it makes me feel, and that feeling can never be accurately represented with words, but I will do my best.

I had one goal today when I walked down to the beach, and that was to calm my mind, and let my senses take over. I wanted my thoughts and feelings to stem from what I was seeing, feeling, smelling, tasting, and hearing. No matter what idea was swimming around in my mind, there was a constant sense of calm, happiness, peace, and appreciation the entire time. IMG_4840When you think of something as peaceful and tranquil, you might think of dead silence and not a lot going on. My peace and tranquility is not only found, but heightened at the loud sound of the waves crashing against the shore, the ocean breeze delicately zipping by your ear, the abundance of life that swarms around the beach, and the sunlight that bounces off the surface of the water.

There is something so mysterious yet so intriguing about looking out into the ocean and its vast emptiness. You can see so much at the same time as nothing at all and it leaves your mind to wander through all the possibilities. When you look at the ocean you see the blue hue of the sea that stretches out as far as the eye can see, the white foam folding over the crest of an incoming wave and crashing down, and the bright yellow(ish) sand that goes down the shore for miles. What you don’t see is the complete other world that quietly sits beneath the surface of the water. An entire different ecosystem that hosts over one million different species of living beings. One million that we know of, and an estimated nine million species scientists say we have yet to discover.

The last point I’d like to make is that a place such as the beach, a powerful and beautiful force of nature, inherently causes happiness and positivity to all. No matter the reason you go to the beach for a stroll, or the guy/girl next to you, everyone does it for some reason and generally they tend to be for beneficial and positive ones. I had a couple of interactions with people today at the beach, and every single one was filled with happiness and genuine positivity and friendliness. People were shooting smiles left and right and always willing to say hello share a few words. The beach is an amazing place that has many great qualities that can benefit everyone, and for that I am grateful.

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Gratitude – Day 9: Place

Leave a Reply

